Weekly Meal Plan

This was a short week of meal planning since Tom’s family came in town and we weren’t sure of our plans yet. I was trying to find really easy recipes, which seems to end up being highly processed meals. I’m likely choosing these meals and find them easy because they’re very basic. Every week, I’m working on using less pre-made, pre-packaged, and pre-bottled ingredients. I started following CleanFoodCrush on Facebook, so I’m going to try out some recipes there.

Sunday | Easy Italian Empanadas

These were actually a pain in the butt and very average. It took much longer to make than I anticipated, but maybe I just don’t know the secret to rolling out dough. In the end, we thought they could use more flavor. It was annoying that it took so long and they’re not even good for you!

Monday | Hobo Dinner

My favorite (and least processed) this week was the hobo dinner. Thomas made it since I was working later than I expected, so I don’t really have tips. But he did say that he enjoyed the minimal prep and clean up.

Tuesday | One Pot Garlic Butter Chicken, Green Beans, & Potatoes

I thought this was pretty average. Rather than using the pre-made sauce, spices would have worked just as well. It was also my first time cooking with fresh green beans. They were a bit too crunchy for me, so I think I’ll try boiling them next time. While it was in the oven, I prepped the pasta and chicken for Wednesday night’s dinner.

Wednesday | Chicken & Bacon Alfredo Casserole

Since I prepped the ingredients for this meal the night prior, it was pretty easy to throw together. I used bacon leftover from a previous breakfast too. It made quite a bit of food and was just as good reheated as it was fresh.

Thursday | Leftovers

I really, really dislike throwing away food and am working on cooking less “entree” and incorporating more fresh fruits and vegetables as sides. Not everything is good reheated! I really try to make about for three servings, since Thomas is a growing boy and can eat enough for two. I hope each week I can find cleaner meals! I will also try to start tracking how much we spend and how much each meal cost.

Screen Shot 2016-07-14 at 1.11.04 PM

Leave a comment